What Makes My Day Good :-)

“Happiness is letting go of what you think your life is supposed to look like and celebrating it for everything that it is” – Mandy Hale

What makes you happy?

Here are just a few things that brighten my day:

  • Hugs – from family, friends, my partner – always makes me feel warm and fuzzy
  • Duke – this little dog can brighten any bad day. He always knows when I feel down and need a bit of a lift and he’ll come for a cuddle on my lap or come and drop a toy in front of me to play fetch. It’s amazing how our pets are so in-tune with our emotions.
  • Cosy film nights – my partner often works evenings so those evenings that I have finished everything I need to do, I often have a film night while I wait for him to come home. I had a bit of a chick flick session the other day where I watched ‘Clueless’ and ‘Mean Girls’. Sometimes it’s nice to catch up on the older classics like ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ and ‘An Affair to Remember’. It’s not as easy to get anymore but microwave popcorn is always good.
  • Soppy texts – just getting a text from my other half saying ‘I love you’ brightens my day. My best friend often sends me random texts with crazy memories which always makes me chuckle.
  • Family – I don’t think it matters how old you get, a phone call to Mum or another family member always helps you find some direction and perspective.
  • Friends – as I mentioned before, my best mate is always popping random things in text messages or posting some mad things on my Facebook wall. Unfortunately she lives in Birmingham so I don’t get to see her that often.
  • A completed to-do list – it signifies a time to relax! I would always recommend writing to-do lists. I think it spurs you on during the day to tick things off your list and you get a great sense of achievement at the end of the day when you have completed things. Sometimes I write my to-do list in bed the night before if I can’t sleep because of thoughts of things to do in the next day are running through my head. I find this helpful and would really recommend doing this.
  • Naughty food – I know it’s bad for you but who doesn’t feel good having the occasional naughty treat? A packet of sweets, bag of crisps, etc.
  • Looking at old photos – this can bring back so many happy memories
  • Bubble baths – simple but relaxing. If you haven’t had a bath bomb from Lush yet (https://www.lush.com/), I would really recommend trying one. Amazing scents, they colour the water, absolutely perfect.
  • Giving presents – who doesn’t feel good cheering someone else up? Which brings me on to:
  • RAOK – Random Act of Kindness. Go and do something nice for someone without being asked. It doesn’t have to be someone you know, but try it. You’ll have a positive impact on someone else’s day and hopefully they will pay it forward to do something for someone else.
  • Listening to music – it can be fun to have a break where you play songs you used to like growing up. This can evoke some great memories. Or make yourself a playlist of all the current songs you like.
  • Playing the piano – I just find this a way of relaxing, playing my favourites.
  • Handwritten letters and cards – everything today is all online or by phone but receiving a handwritten letter or card adds the personal touch. There’s a site – http://www.moreloveletters.com/home-alt/ – where you can write letters to people who might be going through a tough time and need a bit of support. Try it, write a note or card to a loved one or moreloveletters.com. You’ll make their day. It’s a great way of showing someone you are thinking about them.
  • Exploring new places – I often put Duke and a picnic in the car (before my driving nerves after an accident) and we would just drive. I had no plan as to where I was going, I just drove whichever way I felt (had a sat nav to get home with!) and we would end up in parks and woodland, somewhere new each time and it was great. We even discovered Woodhenge (http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/woodhenge/) which I didn’t even know I lived so close to.
  • Reading – how lovely is it to get lost in a good book. Santa Montefiore is my favourite author and I can easily get lost in her books for hours at a time.
  • Walking in the rain – I absolutely love the rain. You are never too old to jump in puddles!
  • YouTube – watching funny animal videos always cheers me up. Here are my favourites:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmpONxJ7JSw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGeKSiCQkPw

Why is it important to be happy? You’ll feel good, live longer, have better health, bounce back from things faster and just be a more helpful and better person.

So go and do something today that makes you happy!

Leave a Reply

