My Outlook on Life

I used to be quite the pessimist and I literally woke up one day and thought – why? That is not helping me. Negativity is not going to get me to where I want to be. So I changed my outlook. It wasn’t easy but you can talk yourself into a lot of things.

As Albus Dumbledore said in the Prisoner of Azkaban – “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”

I believe you really can find good in every situation, even if it’s that you learn a lesson from a mistake.

One thing that has really helped me is Instagram. When I first joined Instagram I decided to find something that made me smile every day for a couple of weeks to post. That meant I went out looking for something that would make me smile – playful Duke, a pretty flower in the garden. (incidentally my Instagram is: soph_faith)

There are a lot of role models on social media. Louise Pentland, aka Sprinkle of Glitter, is one of these. She posts from the heart and she is more than just a blogger / vlogger as she supports some feminist organisations.

I had a teacher at school who built my confidence and I used to watch her and think, one day I would like to have that confidence and be that talented. I then created goals for myself to get there.

Let me know some of your role models.

Have any of you got an inspirational playlist that gets you going?

Some of my favourites are:

Joanna Pacitti – Watch me Shine

Athena Cage – All or Nothing

And who at the moment is not still singing Let It Go from Frozen!

There’s a quote I remember from a Simpson’s episode and Homer is trying to console Bart after the death of one of his idols and he says – “Don’t let Krusty’s death get you down, boy. People die all the time, just like that. Why, you could wake up dead tomorrow! Well, good night.” That quote just tickled me and it’s become a bit of a saying in the house when one of us doesn’t want to do something then the other will remind them that they shouldn’t say no as they may not be around tomorrow! Morbid but often does the job.

I’ve suffered with anxiety now for years and in the past it has stopped me doing things but now I’ve learned to just push through the anxiety, to try not to let it stop me. Sometimes that means I’m up through the night having panic attack after panic attack but once I have actually achieved what was making me nervous, it feels great.

I’ll go into anxiety in a future post but there was something raised in a TedX talk on Youtube (I would really recommend watching some of these for a boost, try one a day if you can). It was a link to a comedy sketch where a woman went to see a psychiatrist about an issue and his very helpful advice was simply ‘Stop it’.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ow0lr63y4Mw

Now we all know when we have a concern it isn’t that easy but now when I have a panic attack, I just say to myself ‘stop it’ and thinking of the sketch does make me giggle and takes my mind off things even for a minute or two.

 

An inspirational poem to finish this blog post on. It’s called ‘Don’t Quit’:

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,

When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,

When the funds are low and the debts are high,

And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,

When care is pressing you down a bit-

Rest if you must, but don’t you quit.

 

Life is queer with its twists and turns,

As every one of us sometimes learns,

And many a fellow turns about

When he might have won had he stuck it out.

Don’t give up though the pace seems slow –

You may succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than

It seems to a faint and faltering man;

Often the struggler has given up

When he might have captured the victor’s cup;

And he learned too late when the night came down,

How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out –

The silver tint in the clouds of doubt,

And you never can tell how close you are,

It might be near when it seems afar;

So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit –

It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.

Leave a Reply

